New Mexico/West Texas Regulatory Branch

The Clean Water Act (CWA) Section 404 permitting program within the Albuquerque District's Area of Responsibility (AOR) for New Mexico (NM) and West Texas (TX) is administered by the NM/TX Branch of the Regulatory Division. The AOR of the NM/TX Branch covers the entire State of New Mexico and parts of West Texas—extending along the U.S./Mexico border until reaching the Amistad Reservoir east of the confluence of the Pecos River and the Rio Grande. 

There are two Regulatory offices within the NM/TX Branch: the Albuquerque District Office and the Las Cruces field office. The mailing addresses are as follows:  4101 Jefferson Plaza NE Albuquerque, NM  87109 (Albuquerque District Office); and 200 E. Griggs Avenue Las Cruces, NM 88001 (Las Cruces Field Office). 

Important: all permit applications, preconstruction notifications, requests for jurisdictional determinations, compliance certifications, and monitoring reports for projects within New Mexico and Texas situated within the Albuquerque District area of responsibility should be submitted electronically to  for initial in-processing and project manager assignment. For the submittal of new requests for activities that had previous Corps interaction, please reference the assigned project number with the submittal, if known.

The map below depicts the Area of AOR for the NM/TX Regulatory Branch AOR and Points of Contact for general inquiries regarding actions located therein.

Navajo Nation

As of September 8, 2022, the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (Corps), Albuquerque District, administers the Corps’ Regulatory Program within the boundaries of the Navajo Nation.

The Navajo Nation is the largest Indian reservation in the United States, covering approximately 17,000,000 acres (27,000 square miles). It is primarily located in northwestern New Mexico and northeastern Arizona, with a portion also extending into Utah. The NN reservation overlaps Albuquerque District (SPA), Los Angeles District (SPL), and the Sacramento District (SPK). To improve communications, increase consistency, and streamline CWA Section 404 permitting and 401 WQC certification coordination and processes, SPA will be the lead District and sole point of contact for Regulatory permit reviews, and compliance and enforcement. SPL continues to lead in the review of all Arizona Department of Transportation actions.

All other applications, inquiries, and requests should be submitted to our general mail box,

For assistance with projects located In Navajo Nation contact Zachary Truesdell in the Albuquerque District office at (505) 464-0548.