US Army Corps of Engineers
Albuquerque District Website

Southern Colorado Regulatory Branch

The State of Colorado falls within the jurisdiction of three separate U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE) Districts. Watersheds west of the Continental Divide are covered by the Sacramento District, and the remaining areas east of the Divide are covered by the Omaha and the Albuquerque Districts. The Albuquerque District serves as the lead district for matters spanning multiple district boundaries or affecting USACE statewide Regulatory policies and programs.

The Clean Water Act (CWA) Section 404 permitting program within the Albuquerque District's Area of Responsibility (AOR) of Colorado is administered by the Southern Colorado Regulatory Branch and generally covers the Upper Arkansas River and Upper Rio Grande Basins. The location and mailing address for the Southern Colorado Regulatory Branch office is 201 West 8th Street, Suite 350, Pueblo, Colorado 81003. 

How to submit new requests: All permit applications, PCNs, and requests for jurisdictional determinations should be submitted electronically to

If you are unable to submit your requests electronically, or if you have questions or need assistance preparing your request, please contact the primary point of contact (POC) for your area, as listed below.

 Region / Subject Matter  Project Manager, email  Phone


 El Paso County
 Teller County
 Lincoln County
 Cheyenne County
 Kiowa County
 Tony Martinez  Office: (719) 543-9459 x 3
 Mobile: (719) 600-8641

 Lake County
 Chaffee County
 Fremont County
 Pueblo County
 Crowley County
 Otero County
 Bent County
 Prowers County
 Activities in Fountain Creek below the City of Fountain

 Questions about mitigation:
 Colorado Mitigation Procedures 
 Colorado Stream Quantification Tool (CSQT)  
 Regulatory In-Lieu Fee and Bank Information Tracking System (RIBITS
 Prospective mitigation banks and in-lieu fee programs 

 Joshua Carpenter  Office: (719) 543-9459 x 2
 Mobile: (719) 744-9379

 Custer County
 Huerfano County
 Las Animas County
 Baca County 
 All counties within the San Luis Valley (Upper Rio Grande Basin)

 Potential CWA violations 


 General Inquiries  Kara Hellige  Office: (970) 259-1604