South Pacific Division Regulatory Initiative in the State of Colorado

Published Dec. 17, 2020

SUBJECT: U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Regulatory Program in the State of Colorado

Effective May 16, 2021, the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (Corps), Albuquerque District, will administer the Corps’ Regulatory Program in the following counties in the State of Colorado: Archuleta, Delta, Dolores, Eagle, Garfield, Grand, Gunnison, Hinsdale, La Plata, Mesa, Mineral, Moffat, Montezuma, Montrose, Ouray, Pitkin, Rio Blanco, Routt, Saguache, San Juan, San Miguel, and Summit (Western Slope Counties), instead of the Sacramento District. The Corps’ Omaha District will continue to administer the Regulatory Program for counties in the Front Range.


The Corps’ Regulatory Program in Colorado has been administered by the Albuquerque, Sacramento and Omaha Districts for more than 40 years. Since at least 1984, the Albuquerque District has served as the lead district for the Regulatory Program in Colorado. In its role as lead district, the Albuquerque District has been responsible for consistent, state-wide interpretation of guidance, developing and coordinating Corps-State strategies for program efficiencies, and establishing a single point of contact for the State to address questions and direct them to the appropriate Districts.


On October 30, 2020, Corps’ South Pacific Division Regional Command Council voted and the Division Commander made a decision to realign the Regulatory Program boundaries between Sacramento and Albuquerque Districts, transferring the Sacramento District’s portion of Colorado (Western Slope) for the Regulatory Program mission to the Albuquerque District (see attached figure). This change allows the Corps to continue to provide a high level of customer service in delivering the Regulatory Program in Colorado while eliminating some confusion to the public through reducing the number of Corps Districts implementing the Regulatory Program from three districts to two.

Partners, stakeholders, and the regulated public will be unaffected by the change. The change is an internal reorganization of Regulatory Program boundaries only and should be seamless. Other Corps mission area boundaries will not be changed. The Regulatory offices in Grand Junction and Durango will remain fully operational.

Please contact the following individuals for more information or questions about this announcement.

Kelly Allen, Albuquerque District, Regulatory Division Chief,, 505-342-3216

Michael Jewell, Sacramento District, Regulatory Division Chief,, 916-557-6605